Search This Blog


The Tibetan Bön System of Five Elements and Three Humors

This is a study guide for the Bön System of Five Elements and Three Humors.

Everything in the material world, great and small, begin and end with the five archetypal elements consisting of earth, water, air, fire and space.

The archetypal five elements are also closely bound to our health via the three archetypal humors consisting of wind (desire), bile (hatred) and phlegm (ignorance).

In Tibetan Buddhism, the five elements are represented by the Five Mothers (the Five Female Buddhas, the Five Wisdom Dakinis)


The Five Elements:
The Three Humors of Traditional Tibetan Medicine:

No comments: